Sunday, 2 October 2022

Types of Thai Visa & STV

02 Mar 2021

According to the Department of Consular Affairs, there are 7 types of Thai visa as follow:

  • 1. Courtesy Visa 
  • 2. Diplomatic Visa
  • 3. Long Stay O-A , O-X Visa 
  • 4. Non-immigrant Visa
  • 5. Official Visa
  • 6. Tourist Visa
  • 7. Transit Visa

As of December 2020, non-Thai nationals from all around the world can apply for a tourist visa to enter Thailand. Tourist visa lasts 60 days starting after two weeks quarantine is done. Apart from the tourist visa, a new type of visa was introduced by the Tourism Authority of Thailand in an attempt to promote tourism that was bettered by the outbreak of COVID-19.

The Thailand Special Tourist Visa (STV)

What is STV?

The STV visa targets long-stay tourists and allows non-Thai nationals to enter Thailand under the condition that they comply with Thailand’s quarantine regulations.


With STV, tourists can stay in Thailand up to 90 days. It can be extended twice for further 90 days each time.

Effective date

STV was officially published on September 29, 2020. It is effective from October 1, 2020, to September 30, 2021. Non-Thai nationals who complete the application procedure in time are free to enter Thailand.


The fee for issuing STV visa is 2,000 THB (about 65 USD). The extension for another 90 days also costs 2,000 each time. The visa fee is non-refundable.

*Note: The cost only covers the visa fee. Tourists still have to pay for other fees such as flight ticket, ASQ hotel, and accommodation after the two weeks quarantine at their own expenses.

 Who can apply for STV?

Up until November, the STV visa is only available for non-Thai nationals who arrive from low-risk to medium-risk countries. However, the latest announcement was published by the Royal Thai Government Gazette on December 9, 2020, with immediate effect that all long-stay visitors from around the world is eligible to apply for STV—tourists, business travelers, investors, and others, as well as travelers and crews of foreign yachts.

Where to apply for STV?

Non-Thai nationals should contact the Royal Thai embassy/consulate in their country of origin to declare your intent for a long-stay visit in Thailand. Requirements and documents for each country’s Thai embassy/consulate may be different. Please check with your local Thai embassy/consulate for further details.

Important note

Always check with your local Thai embassy/consulate before making a decision as the regulations are subject to change depending on the COVID-19 situation.